Erase mac mini to factory settings

Click Keep a Copy.

Your messages remain accessible to other devices; this step merely disconnects the account from the Mac Mini. In the Messages app, click the Messages menu, click Preferences , then click Accounts. Select your iMessage account, then click Sign Out.

The ultimate checklist before you reset MacBook Pro

Optionally, remove the settings from your Mini of any Bluetooth devices for which it might be paired. Click the Apple menu and click System Preferences. Click Bluetooth. Hover the mouse pointer over the device s you want to unpair. An " x " button appears when you do; click it to unpair the device. After you perform these steps, you'll need a wired USB keyboard and mouse to use the Mini.

How to Reset Your Mac to Factory Settings

Restart your Mac Mini and hold down the Command-R keys while it's booting back up. This opens the desktop with a macOS Utilities window in the middle. If you see any other screen — like a login screen or your usual desktop — that means you didn't hold down Command-R soon enough or long enough.

Try again.

How to Erase and Factory Reset your Mac!

When the Utilities window appears. Click Disk Utility in the Utilities window. Select Macintosh HD and click Erase to erase the data on your hard drive. Choose Quit Disk Utility when you see the erase success message. Follow the prompts to choose a language and accept the license agreement.

When the operating system is reinstalled, your hard drive is clean and ready to be used again. Aubrey Kerr is a writer and photographer.

With a B. Her work appears on several websites including Salon. The initial erase and data removal process is how this primarily differs from simply reinstalling OS X system software on the Mac without formatting the Mac to begin with, which would maintain files and apps and user data, whereas the factory reset completely removes everything and starts fresh.

Step-by-step Guide to Reset Mac to Factory Settings - Blog - MacKeeper™

This will completely erase everything on the Mac, no personal files will remain, no apps, nothing, the Mac will be completely formatted and wiped clear, and the only thing left will be the factory reset stock version of MacOS or Mac OS X system software, just as if the Mac was new. Be sure you backup any and all personal files and data that you care about before starting this process, if you do not back up your personal data and files they will be permanently lost as this process erases the Mac and resets the computer to factory default settings.

Do not skip backups of your stuff!

Create a backup

If you want to completely erase the Mac and get a factory reset Mac OS X version that is blank and back to default settings as if the computer was brand new, this is the process to achieve that. This will reset Mac to the factory default version of Mac OS X on the computer, everything else will be removed in the process. On the other hand if you are setting it up yourself, go ahead and go through the initial setup process, it will be just like it was when the Mac was brand new, requiring setup of the user account and system software, setting up as a clean slate of factory default settings.

No personal data will remain on the Mac, no apps, no files, nothing, it is entirely wiped clean of all data and then a fresh factory version of Mac OS X system software has been installed.


  1. Deactivate iTunes Account.
  2. 8 Steps to Reset Your Mac to Factory Settings [Tutorial].
  3. How to restore your Mac to factory settings?

All Rights Reserved. Reproduction without explicit permission is prohibited. Subscribe to OSXDaily.